The Latest: Serena’s coach critical of chair umpire’s action
NEW YORK (AP) — The Latest on the U.S. Open tennis tournament (all times local):
Serena Williams’ coach says chair umpire Carlos Ramos should have used better psychology instead of creating drama, because you “don’t screw a Grand Slam final.”
Patrick Mouratoglou acknowledged coaching during the match, which is a rules violation. Ramos saw it and issued Williams the first of three code violations she received in her 6-2, 6-4 loss to Naomi Osaka.
Williams reacted angrily, telling Ramos she doesn’t cheat. The ensuing penalties would first cost her a point, and then a game.
Mouratoglou says that “in 99 percent of the cases, he would have told Serena, ‘I’ve seen your coach do a movement and tell him to stop, otherwise you’ll have a warning. And I don’t understand why he didn’t do that, where all the other chair umpires do this all year long, including him.’”
The WTA says it will look into the dispute between Serena Williams and chair umpire Carlos Ramos.
Williams was penalized a game for calling the chair umpire a thief during an extended argument as the U.S. Open women’s final. Williams clashed with chair umpire Carlos Ramos, demanding an apology after he initially issued a warning for a code violation in the second set’s second game for receiving coaching, which is not allowed during Grand Slam matches.
“There are matters that need to be looked into that took place during the match,” the WTA said in a statement.
The WTA said Williams and U.S. Open champion Naomi Osaka both have “great integrity.”
Naomi Osaka won the U.S. Open to become the first Grand Slam champion from Japan, beating Serena Williams 6-2, 6-4 after the American was penalized one game for a third code violation.
Williams was given three code violations by chair umpire Carlos Ramos, the third leading to an automatic loss of a game in the second set.
Serena Williams was given a second violation, this one for smashing her racket, and again yelled at the chair umpire who had given her a first warning for coaching.
The second code violation cost Williams a point, meaning Naomi Osaka had a 15-0 even before hitting her first serve in the sixth game of the second set.
Williams had been given a first violation by Carlos Ramos for coaching earlier in the set, telling him that she’d “rather lose” than cheat.
She resumed that argument after the second violation, still angry about the first violation. She unwrapped a new racket and then took the court to argue again some more about coaching.
“You owe me an apology,” she said. “I have never cheated in my life!”